A SUMMER LIKE ANY OTHER

The sacred star crushes its rays on my too thin skin, it is 4 pm.

On the hot asphalt road I meet a little donkey, I approach it is quite young but the soiled hairs of its nostrils disgust me I try to think of something else. His eyes, which fix me, are clear like the water in the wash-house near the church. I pull up fresh grass, I blame myself, it doesn't need it, I don't need it, I have just destroyed an eco system, no doubt, but I continue. I like to feed animals I have the impression that they will love me faster this way, I have been hoping for 40 years now.

On leaving I take a deep breath, I love the smell of manure, it's strange but it comforts me. Life is so beautiful when nature is everywhere around us, salt water drips on my body, I bring my forearm to my lips and I lick the hollow formed at the level of my elbow, I swallow while closing my eyes, I love that.

A strong man spades the earth further with a large blow of a metal tool, he splits the ground with his bare arms, it is beautiful, the sun is reflected on the blade and dazzles me, he apologizes when he sees me carrying my hands in front of my hazel eyes. When I greet him, his face lights up and reveals a calm, toothless smile.

Aesthetics no longer matter as soon as you leave the capital, it's superfluous.

A few more meters and I will arrive at the flea market, a beige and rusty roadside warehouse where people come to drop off their old junk that I love so much. In front, bikes are lining up hoping for a repair that will never happen, they will have to be bought as is.

While wicker deckchairs make my eye, behind the shutters I dream of old sheets and beautiful curtains, damaged dyes, lace tablecloths bursting with stories of the countryside, those that take nights whole by the fireplace, those we tell each other on summer evenings stretched out in the garden. Mixture of soap smells,

kitchen and wood fire ...

It's closed, I'll be back tomorrow.

- PERMANENT COLLECTION -

"The original shapes of things"

 

 

The model remains the same, only the fabric changes each season.

UN ÉTÉ COMME LES AUTRES

L’astre sacré écrase ses rayons sur ma peau trop fine, il est 16 heures.

Sur le chemin de bitume brûlant je croise un petit âne,  je m’approche il est assez jeune mais les poils souillés de ses narines me dégoutent j’essaie de penser à autre chose. Ses yeux qui me fixent, sont clairs comme l’eau du lavoir près de l’église. j’arrache de l’herbe fraiche, je m’en veux, il n’en a pas besoin, je n’en ai pas besoin, je viens de détruire un éco système sans doute mais je continue. J’aime donner à manger aux animaux j’ai l’impression qu’ils vont m’aimer plus vite de cette manière, cela fait maintenant 40 ans que j’espère.

En repartant je prends une grande inspiration, j’aime l’odeur du fumier, c’est étrange mais elle me réconforte. La vie est si belle quand la nature est partout autour de nous, l’eau salée goutte sur mon corps, je porte mon avant bras à mes lèvres et je lèche le creux formé au niveau de mon coude, je déglutit en fermant les yeux, j’adore ça.

Un homme fort bêche la terre plus loin à grand coup d’outil métallique, il fend le sol de ses bras nus, c’est beau, le soleil se reflète sur la lame et m’éblouit, il s’excuse en me voyant porter mes mains devant mes yeux noisette. Quand je le salue, son visage s’éclaire et laisse apercevoir un sourire calme et édenté.

L’esthétique n’a plus d’importance dès que l’on quitte la capitale, c’est du superflu. 

Encore quelques mètres et j’arriverai à la brocante, un entrepôt beige et rouillé de bord de route où les gens viennent déposer leurs vieilleries que j’aime tant. Devant, des vélos font le queue espérant une réparation qui n’arrivera jamais, il faudra les acheter tel quel.

Tandis que des chaises longues en osier me font de l’oeil, derrière les persiennes moi je rêve d’anciens draps et de beaux rideaux, des teintures abimées, des nappes en dentelle gorgés d’histoires de la campagne, celles qui prennent des nuits entières au coin de la cheminée, celles que l’on se raconte les soirs d’été étendus dans le jardin. Mélange d’odeurs de savon,

de cuisine et de feu de bois…

C’est fermé, je reviendrai demain. 

- COLLECTION PRINTEMPS-ÉTÉ 2021 -